General Election 2017

A Parliamentary General Election will take place across Oldham on 8 June 2017. Oldham Council is responsible for the elections in the Oldham East and Saddleworth and Oldham West and Royton constituencies.


Oldham East and Saddleworth

  • ABRAHAMS Debbie (Labour Party)
  • ALI Kashif (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • BOND Ian James (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • SMITH Jonathan Paul (Liberal Democrats)  

Oldham West and Royton

  • GLENNY Christopher (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • HARKNESS Garth (Liberal Democrats)
  • KEATING Ruth (UK Independence Party (UKIP))
  • KING Adam (Green Party)
  • McMAHON Jim (Labour and Co-operative Party)  

Royton North – election of District Councillor

Residents in the Royton North ward will also be voting to elect a District Councillor.


  • FISH Alan Robert (The Conservative Party Candidate)
  • GOSLING Russ (Liberal Democrats)
  • PHYTHIAN Clint (Labour Party)
  • SHAW Lina (Green Party)  

Key information and dates

The deadline to register to vote is Monday 22 May 2017.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm Tuesday 23 May.

The deadline to appoint a proxy to vote on your behalf is 5pm Wednesday 31 May.

Find out where to cast your vote:

Tips for elections day:

Follow us for coverage

You can follow Oldham Council on a number of social media platforms for coverage on Polling Day and live from the election count at the Queen Elizabeth Hall on 8 June 2017.