Care homes | Oldham Council

Care homes provide accommodation, meals and 24 hour support and personal care for older people, people with disabilities, or people unable to manage at home for any reason.

Types of care homes

There are 4 main types of care homes: 

  • Care homes who provide personal and social care (sometimes referred to as residential homes)
  • Care homes with nursing care (these care homes have trained, experienced general nurses on duty and sometimes referred to as nursing homes).
  • Care homes that provide both services personal / social care and general nursing care (sometimes referred to as dual registered homes).
  • Care homes with general nursing and dementia nursing care services (these care homes have specially trained general nurses or registered mental health nurses on duty and are sometimes referred to as DE nursing homes or EMI homes).

Find the right kind of care home to suit your needs.

Getting help choosing a care home

AgeUK Oldham can provide practical help and support if you are considering a care home. They can provide more detailed information, help you understand your options, and guide you throught the whole process.

Paying for residential and nursing home care

How much you pay depends on your circumstances