The Cabinet is made up of a Leader, a Deputy Leader and up to 9 councillors appointed by the Leader.

The Cabinet is responsible for strategic decisions and recommends proposals for approval by full Council on the budget, Council Tax levels and the Council’s policy framework.

The Cabinet can form committees, working groups and panels. For example, a sub committee of the Cabinet has been formed to take decisions about Trust Land within the Borough.

The Cabinet meets monthly. For minutes and agendas Browse meetings.

What does the Cabinet do?

The Leader of the Council may determine to exercise any of the executive functions of the Council personally, or may arrange for the exercise of any of the Council’s executive functions by:

  • The Cabinet
  • By a Committee of the Cabinet
  • By an officer of the Council in consultation with a Member of the Cabinet.

Powers of the Cabinet

  • Implement agreed policies
  • Give political leadership
  • Make key decisions
  • Proposes policy framework
  • Proposes the budget
  • Makes recommendations to Council

Cabinet members

Only councillors may be appointed to Cabinet and portfolios are assigned by the Leader.

Economy and Skills Cluster

Cabinet Member for Economy and Enterprise (Leader): Councillor Jean Stretton

  • City region and devolution
  • Regeneration and infrastructure
  • Enterprise and business support
  • Capital projects and investments
  • Corporate property and assets
  • Oldham town centre and markets
  • External Relations
  • Policy & Performance
  • Tourism and Events
  • Inclusive Growth
  • Business Intelligence
  • Communications and Media
  • Legal & Democratic Services
  • Member Development and Support

Deputy: Councillor Fazlul Haque

Cabinet Member for Education and Early Years: Councillor Amanda Chadderton

  • Education
  • Early years
  • Education and Skills Commission
  • School Place Planning
  • Looked After Children - Educational Performance
  • GM Childrens' Services Review

Deputy: Councillor Hannah Roberts

Cabinet Member for Employment and Skills: Councillor Shoab Akhtar

  • Get Oldham Working
  • Employment and Employability
  • GM Area Review
  • Work and Skills Strategy
  • Skills and Life Long Learning
  • Apprenticeships

Deputy: Councillor Paul Jacques

Health and Wellbeing Cluster

Cabinet Member for Social Care and Safeguarding: Councillor Jenny Harrison

  • Adult social services
  • Adult safeguarding
  • Provider services
  • Disability services and adaptations
  • Adoption and fostering
  • Children in care
  • Child safeguarding
  • Family support
  • GM Adult Services Review

Deputy: Councillor Ginny Alexander

Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing: Councillor Eddie Moores

  • Health Devolution
  • Oldham Locality Plan
  • Health Improvement
  • Public Health
  • Mental Health
  • Fit for Oldham
  • Leisure and Sport

Deputy: Councillor Vita Price

Neighbourhoods and Cooperatives Cluster

Cabinet Member for Neighbourhoods and Cooperatives: Councillor Barbara Brownridge

  • District Executives
  • Libraries, Heritage and Local Studies
  • Culture & Arts (inc Galleries/Museums)
  • WW1 and Armed Forces Covenant
  • Community Safety & Policing
  • Community Cohesion
  • Community Engagement (Including Changing Behaviours and Get Oldham Growing)
  • Youth Service
  • First Response
  • Strategic Housing
  • Housing Enforcement
  • Planning & Building Control
  • Early Help
  • Environmental Services & Enforcement

Deputy: Councillor Cath Ball

Cabinet Member for Environmental Services: Councillor Fida Hussain

  • Transport
  • Licensing
  • Highways
  • Trading Standards
  • Registrars and Cemeteries
  • Gritting
  • Car Parking Enforcement
  • Street Lighting

Deputy: Councillor Shaid Mushtaq

Corporate Support

Cabinet Member for Finance and HR (Deputy Leader): Councillor Abdul Jabbar

  • Finance
  • HR and Organisational Development
  • Council Workforce - In Work Progression
  • Low Carbon and Energy Saving
  • ICT and Transactional Services
  • Internal Business Support Unit
  • Revenues and Benefits
  • Customer Services (Including Contact Oldham)
  • Welfare Advice and Guidance
  • Commissioning & Procurement

Deputy: Councillor Ateeque Ur Rehman

Company Chairs

Oldham Care & Support: Zahid Chauhan
Oldham UNITY Partnership: Peter Dean 

Statutory Chairs

Planning: Steve Bashforth 
Licensing: Norman Briggs
Health and Wellbeing Board: Sue Dearden

District Chairs

Chadderton: Graham Shuttleworth
Failsworth and Hollinwood: Elaine Garry
Oldham East: Riaz Ahmad
Oldham West: Yasmin Toor
Royton: James Larkin
Shaw: Diane Williamson
Saddleworth: Adrian Alexander

Scrutiny Chairs

O&S Management: Colin McLaren
O&S PVFM: Joy Wrigglesworth

Outside bodies

GMFRS: Steve Williams (spokesperson)
TfGM: Mohon Ali (spokesperson)
GMWDA: Steve Hewitt (spokesperson)
Peak District NP: Colin McLaren 
Pension Fund: TBC

Constitutional Services
Legal And Democratic Services
Civic Centre
West Street, OL1 1UG
Tel 0161 770 5151